Making a Header

 The process of making a header for this site posed the challenge of making the image look as if it hadn’t been altered. I knew before starting what I wanted the final image to look like however it took a few variations to get the color scheme where it was most complimentary. I went on adobe stock photo and found a kitchen to work with, then I found the marble design I wanted for the counter on google images. Lastly, I found a tile pattern that I wanted to use as a backsplash for the kitchen. I then opened the image of the kitchen and locked it as the background. Looking at the image I decided that I wanted to have more of a contrast for the color of the countertop to make it stand out more. In order to do this I had to start by trying out different colors of potential countertops in Photoshop. I did this by selecting the countertop section by section from the background and then trying out different colors, opacities and fills. I finally decided on a deep blue almost black color. I then tried out different tile patterns for the backsplash. This was difficult because it took around four different tile patterns to decide on the one that wasn’t the most contrasting but rather complementary. I finally decided on the mosaic style pattern that I have in the image now. However, I had to resize the tile image several times to finally decide on the right size for the image and backsplash. I wanted to find a size that had the same clarity of the rest of the image as well as the appropriate lighting. Once the backsplash was the right size and color, I went in and added shading under the overhang of the cabinet to make the tile inlay look more realistic. All in all, I find when you are editing images that it is best if you pay attention to the small details because those are the ones that often assist in making the image appear the most realistic.

This image was borrowed and remixed with images from adobe stock, blog and another blog.

Before:
Beautiful Kitchen in Luxury Home

After:
cropped-lm-hp-br.png

Leave a comment